Darling Nicky Q&A with Soca Artist Ricardo Drue (Antigua/Trinidad)

Darlingnicky.ca

 

 

 

Re: Interview with Ricardo Drue (Antigua/Trinidad)

For: Darling Nicky and darlingnicky.ca | darlingnicky999.com

Date: Jan. 27th, 2011

Genre: Soca
Darling Nicky Q&A with Ricardo Drue

With an eclectic mix of Soca, R&B, Hip Hop and Reggae, there is no doubting the diverse ripple effect caused by such phenomenal success stories of great performers like, Michael Jackson, Bob Marley , Machel Montano and LL Cool J have influenced the young and energetic Ricardo Drue to become who he is today. Drue, who is primed to make his presence felt as he crafts a rhythm all of his own throughout the music industry, offers a glimpse into who he is, a young man, first, and also an artist. ~ [excerpt from official biography]

Nicky: Good Morning Ricardo!!  Thanks so much for speaking with me today.  We have lots to catch up on since I last saw you perform at Miami Carnival 2010. Your 2011 seems to be getting off to a great start.  Can you share with us what your most recent projects have been?

Ricardo: Well some of my most recent projects have been the launch of the new band IMIJ and Co.  When I say new; I mean different vibe, different direction.  I have my singles as well “No Boring Gyal”, “Get Wild”, and “Like Glue” that I have been blessed and fortunate enough to have the public support.

Nicky: In addition to being a solo artist, you are also the lead vocalist of Florida based group Crossovah.  Justin Timberlake never found his way back to ‘N’Sync after he achieved so much success as a solo artist; how do you balance your dual roles?

Ricardo: Well I can tell you it is (and has) been very difficult to balance the two.  I try as much as I can to be there for the boys (Crossovah), and I’ll never forget what and where I came from and what prepared me for the journey I am on now.  That definitely is Crossovah.  But look out for the boys as they may just be touring with me for the Carnival season with IMIJ.

Nicky: When you were growing up, did you always know you were going to be a music artist?  And what made you decide that Soca was the genre you would pursue?

Ricardo: Initially I didn’t think I would be an artist, and when I did discover my love for music it wasn’t soca… it was R&B, and as the years went by Soca just filled my body like blood. Since that occurred I cannot do without it.

Nicky: Who or what have been your musical inspirations?

Ricardo: Edwin Yearwood, Michael Jackson (RIP), LL. Cool J, Machel Montano, and Red Rat.

Nicky: You are a native Antiguan, but grew up between Trinidad and Florida.  Do you have a favourite childhood memory about growing up in the West Indies you’d like to share?

Ricardo: Yes I’m definitely a mixed pot of everything (lol).  One of my childhood memories is that I always remember watching Indian movies in Trinidad and trying to do all the stunts; one day lost a tooth because of it!  Yeah I always wanted to star in an Indian movie.

Nicky: Apart from gearing up for March’s Trinidad Carnival, what upcoming projects do you have in the works?

Ricardo: Well I do have some Dance music I’m working on right now with Producer Fryktion from NYC.  This music will be dropping right after Carnival, not holding back.

Nicky: Of the songs you’ve performed or written (I am aware of how talented a songwriter you are), do you have a favourite that has special meaning?

Ricardo: Awww thanks. My song “Like Glue” has special meaning to me.  I watched that song go from nothing to one of the biggest songs in Antigua, it’s was like going through a struggle with a friend and after that struggle that friend becomes a best friend.

Nicky: Who have been your favourite producers to work with?

Ricardo: Right now my favourite producer would have to be Fryktion and Mr. Roots.  They are the best of the best.

Nicky: If you could collaborate on a record with anyone in the world (dead or alive), in any category of music, with who would it be?

Ricardo: Michael Jackson of course!

Darling Nicky Q&A with Soca Artist Ricardo DrueNicky: It is that time of year when plenty new Soca has been released.  Which songs are you listening to in heavy rotation right now?

Ricardo: “Wotless” – KES the Band, “Trini” – Benjai, “Town Ting” – Cassie, “No Boring Gyal – remix” by (shhh) yours truly.  I also listen to a lot of Patrice Roberts’ songs as well.

Nicky: In your honest opinion, especially in the Soca category which operates on a different seasonal calendar then most other genres of music; what do you believe are the factors that contribute to having a monster hit?

Ricardo: The people – they are who make a hit. Most artistes record songs and the songs they think are the monster hits always ends up being the monster flops.  Once the people can relate to your vibe and your music you are sure to have a monster hit!

Nicky: If your life was a reality show, which show would it most resemble?

Ricardo: Ohhhh lawd… Flava Flaaaavvvv!!!!  (lol) I’m kidding, it would be Crossovah TV…check it out on YouTube.

Nicky: We first met at an event in Toronto called BFF – Best Fete Forever, a charity event produced by Dr. Jay de Socaprince benefitting The Daily Bread Food Bank; compared to other markets, how would you describe the Toronto Soca scene?

Ricardo: One of the best!  The people are always willing to give artists a chance to prove themselves and much more supportive.  Other places try to hold artists down.  T-dot is on point and I’d go there any day.

Nicky: When not in the studio or traveling to perform, what do you like to do in your spare time?

Ricardo: I love to spend time with my sons, because I really don’t get to spend much time with them and I love them dearly; Jayden and Kaleb.

Nicky: Where can people find your music if they want to hear more of you?

Ricardo: You can Google “Ricardo Drue” or go to my Facebook or MySpace or YouTube and search “Ricardo Drue” or hit me up on Twitter and I’ll get it to you. @itsdrue

Nicky: I think you know from my Twitter persona that I have no boundaries as to what we can talk about.  So, on behalf of the curious ladies out there, are you involved with someone special and can you describe the qualities in a woman that you find attractive?

Ricardo: I am currently seeing someone yes, she and I however like to keep or personal life under wraps. But what I find attractive is intelligence.  We need to be able to have conversation, must be loving, considerate and willing to compromise.  Other than that I’m pretty easygoing.

Nicky: It’s been such a pleasure getting this opportunity to dig a little deeper into your life and music.  Best of luck for 2011, and look forward to seeing you soon!

Ricardo: Likewise Nicky, the pleasure was all mine.  Sorry I took so long… things have been a little hectic, but I wish all the best in your career and dreams.  Luv always, Drue.

Interview performed by Darling Nicky for darlingnicky.ca | darlingnicky999.com

©2011 Darling Nicky Writing and Publicity Services. All rights reserved.


~ by Darling Nicky on January 28, 2011.